Getting up and Doing It

So many of us have the problem of getting up or taking time out of our busy schedules to get that work out in three to four times a week. Or, if you are like me, you can stick with it fine for two or three weeks then life happens and that routine falls by the way side. After talking with many people about sticking with a routine I am pretty sure I have the hardest time with not only going to work out on my own, but knowing what to do at the gym!

First off, knowing some benefits of working out may actually change your mind set about it and can actually make your day better! I know you have all heard it before, but exercising really does put you in a good mood. The reason for this is because your body produces endorphins which act as a happy signal in the body. Also, exercising reduces stress, strengthens your heart, increases energy levels and improves sleep. Who wouldn’t want to work out?!

As much as I hate to admit it, sometimes it’s me. A lot of the time I would have the energy and motivation to get to the gym, but once I did I had no idea what to do. This automatically discouraged me and I felt dumb resulting in me not going back. Even looking at Pinterest workouts and doing P90X I could not find it in me to stay motivated.

Like I talked about in my first post, I decided I was going to crack down in August and actually stick with my lifestyle change. By first getting my diet down with the South Beach, my mom helped me out and we split a personal trainer at my gym for three months. This gave me a good idea of different workouts to do while combining strength training and cardio. Although this was great while it lasted, I could not afford to continue paying more for the trainer than my rent.

I was really freaking out about what I was going to do once my body started to get used to my exercises when my group of friends were telling me about this workout called FAST. Basically it is like boot camp combining cardio and strength training while continuing to challenge you so your body will not plateau. It also keeps me going because I not only have someone to push me harder than I would push myself, but I also have my friends around me to compete with on the days that I really feel like laying in bed.

Finding somewhere that I can go that keeps my workouts continuous each week while keeping my gym membership for when I want to work on certain muscle groups or just run has really helped me keep up with working out and get to where I want to be.

Comment below and tell me what helped you fight the battle of going to the gym!

About nicolelawley

Hi, my name is Nicole Lawley. I am a creative and driven student at the University of Nevada-Reno studying Business Management and Marketing. I am passionate about helping others achieve living a fit and healthy lifestyle as well as fashion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

