Best Healthy Brownies Ever!

ImageSo these brownies are a must-have recipe in the kitchen! Clearly I was so excited about them I couldn’t take a picture before eating half of the pan. After spring break, I got back on phase one of the South Beach diet which cuts out starchy carbs and sugars. I was craving something chocolate so bad, but didn’t want to be too bad and binge. I bought coconut flour at Whole Foods not too long ago and while looking in my cabinet I pulled that out to see if it had any recipe suggestions.

This recipe is super easy and for the first time I had all of the ingredients already because there aren’t too many. The most important ingredients that made this recipe healthier than regular brownies are the coconut flour and coconut palm sugar which can be found at either Whole Foods or certain Raleys. They have a little bit of a healthy taste, but they were really good without the guilty feeling after! Also cutting the brownies into smaller bites helps you not eat as much. I put a little bit of fat free/sugar free whipped cream on top and it made the perfect snack that got rid of my cravings.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup of Healthy butter
  • ½ cup Cocoa powder- no sugar
  • 6 eggs or liquid egg whites
  • 1 cup of Coconut palm sugar
  • ½ tsp of Vanilla
  • ½ cup of Coconut flour
  • 1 cup of Dark chocolate no sugar chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • In a medium sauce pan over LOW heat blend the butter and cocoa powder. This step is tricky so make sure you melt the butter over low heat first then add the cocoa powder so it doesn’t clump up. (If it clumps up the recipe still turns out fine!)
  • Remove the butter and cocoa powder and let cool.
  • In a separate bowl add all of the other ingredients except the coconut flour. Then blend the cocoa mixture into the bowl.
  • Add the coconut flour and stir until the batter is not clumpy anymore. Add the chocolate chips in if you want them.
  • Bake in a pre-greased 8×8 pan. Bake for about 30-35 minutes.

Comment below and tell me if you liked these brownies as much as I did!

About nicolelawley

Hi, my name is Nicole Lawley. I am a creative and driven student at the University of Nevada-Reno studying Business Management and Marketing. I am passionate about helping others achieve living a fit and healthy lifestyle as well as fashion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

