It Doesn’t Get Easier; You Only Get Better

ImagePhoto Credit

After talking to a good friend of mine last night about getting healthy and where it starts took me back to the beginning of my journey which really wasn’t too long ago. I realized we lacked motivation in the same areas, but wanted so badly to change. Hopefully some of these pointers that changed my life will give you the inspiration and direction you need to get started and most importantly stick with it! After so many failed attempts at this diet fad, pill, workout, etc. I was so sick of trying and failing and the place I desperately needed help was a guideline; some sort of direction that helped me stay on track this time and make those goals I’ve continuously given up on. Each time I always said, “Where would I be now if I had just stuck with those small changes”?

Like I have mentioned before, the South Beach diet has been the only thing that was able to help me understand, stick with and motivate me towards my goals. Going from eating whatever you want and being able to lay around after a busy day at work and school the last thing you want to do is fix dinner and work out! I get it. I was the worst at this. I could always find an excuse not to change and tell myself I wasn’t that bad, but then why did those thoughts always linger about getting shape? This uphill battle of a lifestyle change is a mental one completely. The challenge doesn’t get easier; you only get better. Once you decide you want to change and do it you will. It won’t be easy and you won’t be perfect, but that is step one. After you accomplish this goal, the rest will guide you along the way.

To begin your lifestyle change you will need a realistic diet plan that works for you and a workout plan that works for you. This may be a trial and error, which is why I recommend the South Beach diet. I recommend this mainly because it is steady. You won’t want to kill yourself because you can’t have those cravings and it is fun! Starting out, I would recommend going on phase two instead of phase one because it is a small step. Changing your lifestyle doesn’t happen overnight- it happens one small choice at a time. Then, once you have made some progress with your diet challenge yourself to phase one for two weeks. Check out Diana Mendonca’s blog for some healthy snacks!

If you are like me you will want to make your work out as mentally easy as possible. I have no idea what to do at the gym and if I weren’t doing FAST I probably would have given up. I would recommend taking classes, P90X, or paying for some sort of boot camp/personal training. I know it can get pricey, but do your research and don’t overpay! Be patient and love yourself in the meantime and all of your hard work will pay off!

Comment below and tell me what workouts and diet plan you use to be a better you!

About nicolelawley

Hi, my name is Nicole Lawley. I am a creative and driven student at the University of Nevada-Reno studying Business Management and Marketing. I am passionate about helping others achieve living a fit and healthy lifestyle as well as fashion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

