What Am I Supposed To Be Doing At The Gym?!

cardio

Photo Credit

Like I have stated in previous blog posts, when I go to the gym on my own I literally have no clue what to do. I get intimidated by all of the machines, buff people and then all of the racing thoughts come back to my mind ending with several main questions; do I strength train with free weights, use the machines, and do cardio? I have heard millions of different things from how the machines are bad and you don’t need them, to switch up your workout and use them three times a week, and do cardio everyday! What?! So confusing.

Here are some facts about strength training with and without machines, as well as the true benefits of cardio. Strength training using free weights is optimum when you have limited space, or do not have access to a gym. Personally, I never use machines only basic workout equipment like kettle bells, bosu balls, bands, etc. Strength training without using machines should come first because you should master your own body weight before you move on to the machines. You also get better depth and such on all exercises without machines.

Using machines are building muscle in certain places. A few pros and cons of using machines are they are supportive, easy to use, save time and less intimidating, while they can be too supportive, they are limited, they don’t allow you to work on your weaknesses, plus they don’t allow your body to work naturally.

Cardio exercises are one of the easiest exercises because you can do it anywhere! A basic rule of thumb that I stick to according to the American Heart Association, is to do cardio exercises 3-4 times a week for 30 minutes. Cardio burns calories and fat, strengthens your heart, reduces stress and your blood pressure. Cardio is just so good for you!!

Comment below and tell me what your favorite way to exercise is!

About nicolelawley

Hi, my name is Nicole Lawley. I am a creative and driven student at the University of Nevada-Reno studying Business Management and Marketing. I am passionate about helping others achieve living a fit and healthy lifestyle as well as fashion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Am I Supposed To Be Doing At The Gym?!

  1. You don’t need to be intimidated by any aspect of the gym. When you think about it, there is really nothing scary about it; 1. No one ever talks to anyone random anyways. 2. Who cares what other people are thinking. 3. If you do something wrong or are in someone’s way, you’ll learn from it.
    Using the free wiehgts, or even the machines, is a great way to achieve an atheletic look.
    http://imgur.com/l5egpIU
    This is obviously a photoshoot, and possibly shopped, but you can tell she does more than cardio.

    • nicolelawley says:

      Haha that’s true! I know I shouldn’t get intimidated and some days I’m better than others lol πŸ™‚ thanks so much for the info and encouragement!

    • nicolelawley says:

      haha that is true! I always tell myself that and when I actually have a plan for what I am going to do I do better, but still lol! Thanks so much for the info and encouragement! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

